Stanley Cup playoffs 2018: Alex Ovechkin wins Conn Smythe trophy | NHL

Alexander Ovechkin is a Stanley Cup Champion and a Conn Smythe Award winner.

With his goal in the second period, Ovechkin tied Sidney Crosby for the most goals in a single postseason (15) in the last 20 years. He also passed John Druce for the most goals in a single postseason for the Capitals.

Ovechkin finished the postseason with 27 points (15 goals and 12 assists). He is just the second Russian-born player to win the Conn Smythe award.

Close finishers for second for the award were Evgeny Kuznetsov who finished the playoffs with 31 postseason points with 12 goals and 19 assists, and Braden Holtby who went 15-6 as the Capitals’ goaltender in the playoffs. 

The Conn Smythe award goes to the player named the MVP for his performance during the entire postseason.

Content source